Reinvent yourself

Yesterday a good friend of mine turned 30.  As I wallowed around in Papyrus looking for the perfect inappropriately funny card to go with that 6-pack of beer I got her, I couldn’t help but think that perhaps 30 isn’t that bad.

If you would’ve asked me eight years ago what I would be doing when I turned the big 3-0, I probably would’ve said something like, “I’ll be married to a wonderful man, live in a gorgeous house and maybe have a baby or two.”

The reality: I don’t have any of those things.  And you know what? I’m happy.

Life never goes according to some silly plan we have when we’re 10, 18, or even 25.  And while a good number of my friends are married and some are even thinking about popping out some kids, why should I let that get me down?  The truth is, thirty is a great age to reinvent yourself.

As an almost-30 gal, I tend to put up with less bullshit than I did years ago.  I don’t have time to waste on mediocre guys when I know there are amazing men out there.  (Locating them is another story though)  I have career goals that I am able to achieve because I’m single and I can do whatever the hell I want.  I have the freedom to jet off to NYC on a whim without first consulting the “hubby.”  I can drop $500 at the M.A.C. store if I want and not have to explain my purchases to a significant other who wanted to use that money for a lawnmower. 

However, while all of this independence is amazing, I have to figure out what I want with the next decade of my life.  An apartment bigger than a shoebox?  Yes, please.  Financial stability?  Hell yes.  A husband?  Yikes! I’ll get back to you on that one…

My point is, too many women spend their 20’s trying to find love, and in the midst of all the drama, they lose sight of what they want for themselves.  No, I wasn’t that woman most of the time, but there were slivers of times when I probably did more “living” for my boyfriend than I did for myself.

So, what do I want to accomplish in these next few months before I hit the next milestone in my life?  Stay tuned – I’m compiling a list.  But I do need your suggestions.  Citygal’s “Thirty/Thirty” list – thirty things I want to accomplish while I’m thirty.  Wow, I just said “thirty” a lot of times.  Kinda scary, but kinda exciting too!

~ by citygal on May 1, 2010.

5 Responses to “Reinvent yourself”

  1. I can totally relate. I am in my quarter-life crisis, about to turn 25, and I feel this way constantly. I have no idea what the future holds but I am trying to learn to embrace that feeling.

  2. I love this post. Very empowering. You are so right: there is no need to get bogged down with age or notions of what an age is supposed to bring.

  3. Travel to some exotic place you’ve always wanted to visit but never had the chance to!

  4. Love it and can’t wait for the list. 30 is fabulous, my friend. I’ve been making a mental list as well, but more of a “in my 30s” list rather than 30 since it’s frickin halfway over!

  5. Maybe visit where your parents or your grandparents grew up :).

    I went back to Vietnam and Cambodia, where my parents grew up.

Leave a Reply

 
