The non-date

Although we all love to hate public transportation, those over-crowded buses can oftentimes be full of hotties.  Especially during morning rush hour.  Or…wait, that’s pretty much it.

A few months back, a friend and I met a guy on the bus.  He was carrying a bag of booze and I had just downed a bottle of wine.  We were both on our way to a party.  My friend, who was more sober than I, thought this man was “my type.”  I shrugged.  He  was  kinda cute.  Immediately, the three of us began to converse.  We were officially those loud people in a public place, sharing our personal information for all the city’s wackjobs to hear.  Hey, at least were weren’t on our cell phones. 

I take that back.  My friend whipped out her iPhone, asked the dude his last name (seriously, we were all like BFF’s after only 10 blocks) and Facebooked him.  They became friends, then I became his friend and a month later, we were all hanging out at a bar.

On this said night, bus guy and I agreed to “hang out” later in the week for some more booze, and perhaps some food.  We texted off and on for the next few days and finally, our “date night” had arrived. 

Now, I have to say that after our initial “hang out,” I was kind of alarmed when my bus riding man tended to have a few female tendencies about him.  No, he was not the type who ordered a girlie drink from the bar.  There was just something about the way he interacted with people that set off my gaydar. 

So, on our date I realized that he was not gay.  In fact, he had been engaged years prior, only to have that fail.  Probably because he was 24 and his fiance lived in another city.  Whatev.  We drank.  I drank a lot.  He walked me home and I think I tried to kiss him, but ended up scathing the side of his cheek.  Awkward, but I forgot about it five minutes later when I passed out cold.

I didn’t hear from him for about two months.  And I didn’t care, really.  (Read: I wasn’t that into him.  Or perhaps I was still bitter from break-up hell.  We all know how that goes.)

Then, a few weeks ago he commented on my Facebook status.  I love how Facebook is somehow seen as an acceptable way to strike up a conversation with someone.  Of course, I played into it.  Because along with alcohol, I have another addiction, and its initials are FB.  I’m trying to quit though (FB, not alochol!)

Last week, I bumped into him while I was in the midst of a pub crawl.  We chatted for a few minutes, then parted ways.  My friends got the “feminine” vibe from him too.  Hmmm…

Well, this week he text me, asking me if I wanted to get coffee Saturday morning.  Now, I’ve been on a lot of dates in my lifetime, but never a morning date.  Generally, if I’m with a man in the morning, I’ve slept in his bed and probably done some other “R” rated things. 

In my mind, this is a non-date.  Clearly, coffee is a friend thing.  Or something lame guys on Match.com use as a first date tactic.  We all know first dates require alcohol.

So yes, I’m going on a non-date.  Why?  Why not?  Perhaps my bus buddy has hot friends?  Maybe we’ll end up being like Laverne and Shirley.  And if anything, at least he’s a distraction.  Hey, a non-date is better than a no-date, right?!

~ by citygal on April 8, 2010.

5 Responses to “The non-date”

  1. Just started reading your blog…and I love it! Also…I’m thinking buddy thing too…but hey…who knows…he seems hard to read!

  2. gaaaaaay. gaaaaaay! super gaaaaay! he just needs to get out of the closet. don’t you watch the news, married men, especially republicans, can be GAY!

  3. Let us know how the nondate goes… I am a big fan of them, except when they turn out to be real dates that I was unaware of… Hm. I need to get better at this, is there a method to distinguish the two?

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  4. I knew a guy who purposefully played the gay friend card even though he wasn’t gay. :/ Another wackjob in the making.

    Love your blog, btw.

Leave a Reply

 
