Taking a risk

There are times in our lives when we’re faced with choices.  These decisions are sometimes hard, other times, easy.  But what about those that are risky? 

I’ve always been one to take a risk, because I figure, “What do I have to lose?”  If I was in the Cash Cab, I would definitely go double or nothing on the video bonus round because if I lost, at least I’d get a free cab ride!  Perhaps if I was a risk analyst like Ben Stiller in “Along Came Polly,” those decisions involving men would be a lot easier. 

Alas, this is life.  It’s risky.  Feelings get hurt.  They heal.  Hearts break.  Hearts mend.  People make mistakes.  Some learn from them, some don’t.  When taking the risk in dating or a relationship, it’s easy to analyze all possible outcomes.  A reel of “What if” roulette is constantly rolling in your mind, and in many ways, it’s scary.  The unknown, that is. 

So what do you do?  Do you play it safe and remove yourself from all possibilities?  Or do you cautiously take the risk, knowing it’s consequences may be joyous or dreadful?

Life is a game – sometimes your decisions triumph and sometimes they don’t.  But the good thing is, we learn as we go.  I’m not one to sit around and wonder “What if?” all day.  I’d rather do.  The outcomes may not always be what I had hoped, but at least I can say that I tried.  And at the end of the day, isn’t that all we can really do?

~ by citygal on February 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “Taking a risk”

  1. Well said! I think I usually am the one that plays it safe, but right now I am taking a huge risk by letting DD back into my life. Eventhough we aren’t officially together, there is a good chance he may end up breaking my heart agian, but somehow I am willing to take a risk. I guess it’s like you said, what have I got to loose? I really care about him so I am willing to see if it’ll work the second time around. Here’s to risk taking!

  2. uuugh? what have you got to lose girl who commented above me? opportunity. opportunity is the greatest cost of all and you could be out finding someone better instead of falling back into the same traps.

    people say that they are willing to take a certain risk because its something they really don’t want to do but they don’t have anything else to do but they need to end the cognitive dissonance.

    sure, i could take a risk that if i jumped off a bridge i would survive, but those chances are pretty slim.

    same with relationships.

    in this case you need an exit strategy: stay with this guy too keep your bed warm until you find something better because at the end of the day, he’s probably going to break your heart again.

    • Mr. Japan, you are such a pessimist. Just because you’re a guy, doesn’t mean you know what other men will do. Yes, the risk factor is high, but haven’t you ever broken someone’s heart and tried to get back together with her? Plus, only the people involved in a relationship know what they really have/had, so even though outsiders may not approve, feelings are feelings and life is too short not to act on them.

  3. Nice to stumble upon a fellow City girl.

    PS – re: “stay with this guy to keep your bed warm” (ew)

    Why not move on and try to find it all – keep your bed warm AND be fulfilled. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

 
