Self Love

Instead of being the bitter single person all my coupled friends want to hate this time of year, I thought I might attempt a new approach to this Valentine’s Day bull shit  festival of love.

Despite the fact that I’ve spent every single Valentine’s Day of my adult life NOT wining and dining with a significant other, but rather, drinking alone, willing myself the strength not to drunk text all of my exes (or any man in my phone for that matter), I’ve come to one conclusion – being lonely and bitter doesn’t make this Hallmark day any better. 

Now, I could stay inside all day to avoid viewing all the googly eyes, hand-holding and innocent kisses happy couples make, but I’m single – not  a bear.  There is no need to hibernate. 

After all, this is a day of love, right?  And who better to love yourself then, well…yourself?! 

Having been in a “he-broke-my-heart” funk for the past two months, I’ve realized that I don’t need the love of a man to be happy.  What I do need is some self-love, which at one’s darkest times can be difficult to find.  While I was busy trying to define myself via a man who couldn’t even figure out his feelings for me, I neglected to realize love  for the most important person of all – ME.

So, this Valentine’s Day, although my status is a big “S” for “single,” I can only smile.  Because there’s no shame in being alone.  Especially if you have a cheap bottle of vino and some gal-pals who are willing to ditch their man to be with you.  Now that’s love!

~ by citygal on February 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “Self Love”

  1. at least your not just lonely but sick in bed with H1N40. I couldn’t even make it to the store to get some cheap vino!

  2. There definitely is no shame in being alone, and a self-respecting woman doesn’t need a man to make her happy! And, I’m a firm believer that loving yourself makes everything else fall into place (personally and professionally). 🙂 that you had a wonderful Valentine’s!

  3. I’m so glad that more girls seem to be taking this stance this Valentines Day, just being happy in who they are and where they are in life. It makes me so proud to be part of this little blog community =)

  4. Be proud of yourself for being a strong single woman! You are amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
